• Getting to know me...

    I recently read a post by Desle (Diva Desle) and I thought I would answer a few of the questions to share a bit of myself with you.  I didn't want this to be a very long post so I chose to answer 20 things about me.
    1: What eye color do you find sexiest?
    I have always loved blue eyes, but the type of blue that is almost grey.

    2: White, milk, or dark chocolate mocha?
    I am not a huge fan of chocolate but when I choose to have it, milk chocolate is my favourite when paired with a cup of coffee.

    3: If you could get a Sharpie tattoo on your back, what would it be?
    Seeing as this isn’t permanent I would say a dachshund silhouette, but not a crazy big one.  A small drawing on my shoulder area or on the back of my neck.

    4: Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?
    I grew up in Kimberley.  At that time it was only considered to be a city because it had a cathedral.  Looking back at my childhood, I liked it because it kept me a child for longer. When I look at 12 year olds today, they are little adults whereas I was still playing with barbies dolls with my sister.  Weekends were centred around us as a family – days around the pool or in the yard playing hockey, cricket or tennis.  I had such a wonderful childhood.

    5: Most embarrassing moment from your school years?
    I am not the type of person who gets easily embarrassed by things.  When I do silly / stupid things I am usually the one laughing the loudest.

    6: If you could have any pet in the world, illegal or not, what would you get?
    Besides a dog or goat (those are my two favourites), probably a tiger. I absolutely love tigers.

    7: What's your most favorite part of your body?
    My eyes. I like the odd mix of green and brown that I have.

    8: What's your most favorite part of your personality?
    My ability to love. I am a very warm and loving person, so I love people with every ounce of my being.

    9: Which continents have you been on?
    Only Africa – and only in South Africa. My biggest selfish wish in life is to travel overseas at least once.

    10: Do you get motion sickness? Any horror stories?
    Yes, horrible motion sickness! I once pucked all over my one dog in the car….and all over my Mom. I still battle with it so I tend to try and sleep as much as possible in the car.  I can’t even go on a boat :P

    11: What was your favorite cartoon growing up?
    When I was very young I used to watch Tom and Jerry all the time. Then when I was an “older” child I was obsessed with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and X-Men.
    12: If you had to have a cow or a pig, which would you take? Why?
    Both Cows and Pigs can be so friendly and loving (speaking from experience). I am the type of person that loves to pick up and hug my pets – so I would choose a pig simply because they are a more manageable size.

    13: If you had to look at one city skyline for the rest of your life, which would it be?
    Cape Town! I love my city so much.

    14: If you had to move to another country, where would you move?
    This is a little scary because I actually have fears of moving away from Cape Town. But I think I would choose a place in Europe or North America because travelling the world from those countries is so much more affordable and much easier than from here.

    15: Do you eat enough vegetables?
    No I don’t – I am not a huge fan of veggies. Mostly I like them raw. I hate the texture of cooked veggies, but I do love potatoes, pumpkin, gem squash and butternut.

    16: Do you like horror movies? How about thrillers?
    I am the biggest baby when it comes to scary movies – to the point where I think my fiancé and sister want to watch scary movies just to see my reaction. The last scary movie I watch with them I shrieked, threw my Ipad on the floor, jumped up, ran across the room and jumped onto my fiancé’s lap. I still get teased about that.

    17: Do you swear in front of your parents?
    Never growing up, we would get a good smack if we even said a slightly bad word. Now I get away with a few swear words but my Mom always says “I am still your mother and you are never too old to get a smack from me”  HA HA!

    18: If you could change your natural hair color, would you? To what?
    I recently dyed my hair a much darker shade of brown and I kind of regret it because I had such a unique shade of dusty light brown. I miss it now.

    19: Do you want to get married? Have kids?
    Married – yes (in about 5 months’ time! Woohoo!). Kids – I am undecided.

    20: City or nature person?
    I am lucky that I live in a city where I get the best of both worlds. Cape Town has a mountain towering above the CBD and the sea at its feet.  Beyond that we have winelands and lots of nature reserves. We are so blessed!

    There are 20 quick facts about me.  Please feel free to answer these yourself in the comments below and let me know if you are similar to me in any of my responses.

    Big Hugs,
    Charlene XXX


    1. I love these types of posts!

    2. So nice to get to know a bit more about you! :)


    3. I love this! I'd like to do it on my blog too :)

    4. Ah loved reading more about you, Charlene! I had NO idea that you're a Kimberley girl! My husband spent his high school years in Kimberley and the majority of his family still lives there, so we visit quite often. So many people knock Kimberley and other small towns, but I love going there so much! I just hate going in the middle of summer or middle of winter… talk about extreme temperatures! Ha!

    5. It was lovely to read more about you :) Yes, you are right Cape Town will forever be in my heart. The beauty is just amazing.


    Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment ♡

© Gee Whiskers!
Design:Maira Gall.